The Wisdom of Unexpected Connections

curiosityI’ve finished reading Biz Stone’s book, Things a Little Bird Told Me: Confessions of the Creative Mind.  Biz Stone is the co-founder of Twitter. His self-awareness has been inspiring.

Over the years my friends, family, co-workers, even clients and bosses have exclaimed to me, “How did you know that?” or “How in the world did you make that connection?” What used to feel like shame when my idea appeared to be poles apart from the crowd’s, has turned into appreciation for the way my mind works.

In Stone’s book he says, “Experience and curiosity drive us to make unexpected, offbeat connections. It is these nonlinear steps that often lead to the greatest work.”

What I’ve learned about myself is that my connections are organic. I couldn’t always explain them analytically and this caused some people to doubt their validity. In an instant my mind would grasp interrelationships, visual clues, and data. Or as Stone puts it, “unexpected, offbeat connections.” Does this happen for anyone else?

Creativity and wellness message for today: Ease off on being linear, let your mind associate what appears to be dissimilar information.

One thought on “The Wisdom of Unexpected Connections

  1. Dear Adair, Happens to me all the time. The trick is to recognise those non linear moments and very well aligned so called “coincidences”, and act upon them. The best decisions are often made by following those little nudges sent from God knows where.

Leave a Reply

