Making Art Fun: Step 3 – Don’t Reinvent the Wheel

wheelIt’s a perfect shape, with a basic use — to keeping things rolling, that’s the wheel.

In art as well as in life, I strive to follow rule #3. As you recall on New Year’s Day I wrote about how to make art fun. A few weeks later I shared the secret of keeping things simple and, then, how to artistically use what you have on hand.

Today I’m talking about the wheel, and not reinventing it. A few months ago I was asked to create a writing workshop that would be included in a “Beyond the Book Club” program series. The theme for February was Literature: Louisa May Alcott. After a brief brainstorming session with the program director, the flash of inspiration sparked. Influential Women Who Shape and Inspire Our Lives and Our Writing was born.

Over the course of several weeks each time I got a snippet of an idea for the workshop, either while I was doing dishes late at night, or sipping my morning coffee, I wrote it down on a scrap of paper. I’ve written and presented hundreds of classes and programs. I know the format and formula that fits with my style of teaching and what benefits my participants. Eventually I knew those separate pieces would grow into the entire workshop. All I would have to do was open my manilla folder, organize them, type up the workshop outline and I’d be good to go. I didn’t reinvent the wheel, I allowed my spontaneous ideas to bubble up over a period of time.

Creativity and wellness message for today: Enjoy the freedom you feel when you use the back burner approach.

Leave a Reply

