Starting Where You Are

Spring is a time of change. Winter’s dreary dormancy gives way to daffodils delightfully swaying in bloom. Walking down a country road I realize that I can’t walk the same path twice. The smells, sights, sounds, all change at any given moment. The Greek philosopher, Heraclitus of Ephesus, said “You can never step into the same river; for new waters are always flowing on to you.” I remember a similar saying as an Alice Walker quote, “You can’t step in the same river twice.”

I’ve been stuck in a current situation of change and keep on trying to solve it by going back to old solutions. I haven’t been moving off square one. Then I realized on my walk that I need to invent a new set of solutions to the same challenge. I’m now inspired to think outside the box and create choices for myself that are fresh and untried.

Creativity and wellness message for today: Let the new waters that are flowing over you, steer you in the right direction.

2 thoughts on “Starting Where You Are

  1. Beautifully spoken Adair! Change is ever present and it’s in that process of change that our life becomes an artistic masterpiece. The book “Becoming A Life Change Artist” by Fred Mandell and Kathleen Jordan reflects on this topic very well:

    “So instead of fighting the currents in our river, instead of longing for the stability of shore, we can flow with the river, finding our own unique way to make the journey.”

  2. Beautiful! Every day is a new one. This reminds me of a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: ““Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in, forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day, you shall begin it well and serenely…”

Leave a Reply

